Enfield 7 miles, Picketts Lock  12th Nov 11
Until 2010 the third November 7 miles race was the Belgrave, which had seen fields of two or three hundred in its heyday and attracted a national field, however last year saw the demise of this event. This has left Enfield to take over the mantle of the largest open race in the South and this year’s start line of almost 70 went a good way to justify this position even though the distant visitors were few in number. Surrey Walking Club’s contribution to this total was a creditable 9 and though lacking the fastest competitors required to challenge for team victory were satisfied with fourth. The large field avoided isolation for anybody and Shaun Lightman used this to improve on his time in the Club’s own 7 by nearly four minutes. Slight injury held him back over the first half as he fell to the back of a group of four of five he was with during the first of the three laps. However some easing of the discomfort and the challenge those pulling away enabled him to advance his position sharply on the last lap and achieve his much improved time. Most of the rest also found the flat course and the high standard of the race the incentive to improve by a minute or two with Peter Crane having the biggest improvement after Shaun. The race incorporated various veteran championships with Shaun 1st M65 while Kathy Crilley took the Cup for the first female Centurion. Click here to see photos from the race

1. Dom King (Col H) 49 min 29 sec; 2. Dan King (Col H) 50 min 39 sec; 3. V.Mikelionis (Ilf) 54 min 43 sec; 18. S.Lightman (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 7 min 0 sec; 25. P.Hannell (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 9 min 23 sec; 28. C.Flint (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 10 min 29 sec; 29. P.King (Belg/Sy WC M60) 1 hr 11 min 11 sec; 36. P.Crane (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 15 min 6 sec; 37. I.Thomson (Sy WC M60) 1 hr 16 min 33 sec; 38. S.Crane (Sy WC) 1 hr 19 min 40 sec; 44. D.Hoben (Sy WC M55) 1 hr 26 min 53 sec.
Teams: Ilford 17 points; Enfield 44; Steyning 55 and Surrey WC 78.

1. N.Aidietyte (Ilf W) 53 min 5 sec; 2. H.Middleton (E&H W45) 1 hr 4 min 40 sec; 3. M.Noel (Belg W45) 1 hr 9 min 35 sec; 13. K.Crilley (Sy WC W60) 1 hr 21 min 30 sec.

Go Back