National 10km, Hillingdon Cycle Circuit 20th Jul 13
The modest field of 40 who lined up for this important National 10km Championship was made up for by the quality of the field with most of the fastest UK walkers, male and female, taking part. Although not quite as hot as recently, the temperature and the layout of the course seemed to reduce times by a minute or two compared with recent performances despite the excellent and fairly flat surface. The winner, Tom Bosworth of Tonbridge, was however right up to standard inside 42 minutes and nearly 4 minutes clear of his rivals. Surrey Walking Club had six out – two team’s worth – and suffered no retirements or disqualifications. In addition we had a new female walker, Angela Martin, as well as second claim Paul King. The best outcome was the A team’s 2nd place with former international Chris Cheeseman turning out for the first time for a few years and being very welcome. Perhaps due to lack of recent race walking, he was hampered by injury in the latter part of the race to finish just behind our current premier competitor, David Crane, who had expected a rather better time but did well enough for the team. The third scorer was a new member and former runner, Malcolm Martin, who had an excellent, if justifiably cautious, race with no style problems. Three of the remaining five SWC members were well below par with Shaun Lightman coming in injured and starting at the back of the field but advancing through rapidly at the end to overtake and leave behind a struggling Mick Harran. Angela, wife of Malcolm, probably had the best race of the SWC contingent and despite the generally slow times was actually ahead of expectation.
Click here for photos from the race

1. T.Bosworth (Ton) 41 min 56 sec; 2. D.King (Col H) 45 min 35 sec; 3. D.King (Col H) 46 min 55 sec; 12. D.Crane (Sy WC M35) 59 min 11 sec; 13. C.Cheeseman (Sy WC M50) 59 min 35 sec; 20. M.Martin (Sy WC M55) 1 hr 2 min 59 sec; 21. P.King (Belg/Sy WC M60) 1 hr 5 min 31 sec; 22. P.Hannell (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 6 min 17 sec; 23. S.Lightman (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 7 min 7 sec; 25. M.Harran (Sy WC M75) 1 hr 9 min 27 sec.

1. M.Turner (Nthn(IOM) W40) 50 min 40 sec; 2. H.Lewis (P'broke U23W) 51 min 46 sec; 3. A.Barber (Hyde Pk) 55 min 8 sec; 10. A.Martin (Sy WC W45) 1 hr 8 min 3 sec.

Go Back