SWC Alec Potton Memorial 7 miles Championship, Sandilands, Croydon 3rd Nov 13
SWCs second visit to what may become their new base near the centre of Croydon was held in sunny weather with recent cold winds fortunately at a low level. The field of 22, more than half being Club members, was almost the same size as last year but of a higher standard with several of the newer members in the top half. The winner of the Club Championship for an incredible 32nd time was overall race winner Mark Easton. The only finisher to break the hour, Mark was never headed and eventually achieved a one minute forty second margin over Chris Hobbs of Ashford who himself had an excellent race. Further back there were several good battles as David Crane held off an improving Malcolm Martin while Shaun Lightman just beat Dan Maskell. After a slowish start Mick Harran overtook Peter Hannell on lap 4 of the 7 only to having to push hard on the last lap as he allowed Hannell to close. Among the best performances came from well down the field as Bexleys Geraldine Legon beat David Hoben by 8 seconds as the competition took both well inside recent results. As usual the post-race tea saw a good spirits and good food after a hard race on this hilly course. Click here for photos from the race

1.(6) M.Easton (Sy WC M50) 59 min 13 sec; 2. C.Hobbs (Ashf M55) 1 hr 0 min 53 sec; 3. L.Legon (Bexley U17B) 1 hr 2 min 35 sec; 4.(13) D.Crane (Sy WC M35) 1 hr 6 min 19 sec; 5.(3) M.Martin (Sy WC M55) 1 hr 7 min 19 sec; 6. A.Cox (Hill M60) 1 hr 9 min 4 sec; 7. S.Bennett (Ilf M55) 1 hr 9 min 15 sec; 8.(12) S.Lightman (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 10 min 0 sec; 9.(1) D.Maskell (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 10 min 49 sec; 10. S.Pender (E&H M60) 1 hr 12 min 22 sec; 11.(10) P.King (Belg/Sy WC M60) 1 hr 12 min 58 sec; 12.(11) M.Harran (Sy WC M75) 1 hr 13 min 44 sec; 13.(8) P.Hannell (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 13 min 58 sec; 14.(7) C.Flint (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 15 min 0 sec; 15.() D.Delaney (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 17 min 14 sec; 16.(9) D.Hoben (Sy WC M60) 1 hr 19 min 34 sec; 17.(4) J.May (E&H M60) 1 hr 27 min 41 sec. 

1. P.Cummings (AFD W40) 1 hr 12 min 20 sec; 2.(5) A.Martin (Sy WC W45) 1 hr 17 min 14 sec; 3. G.Legon (Bexley W55) 1 hr 19 min 26 sec; 4. N.Grimsey (E&H W55) 1 hr 23 min 35 sec; 5.(2) K.Crilley (Sy WC W65) 1 hr 26 min 35 sec.

Go Back