British Masters Athletics Federation 20km and Enfield League 10km, Hillingdon Cycle Track 29th Nov 14
This event was primarily the British Masters 20km championships and as such attracted a rather poor field with 18 finishers, four of whom were Surrey Walking Club members. The event was run by BMAF assisted by Enfield Harriers who also held their last league race of the year over 10km. The two were held concurrently with 29 more just doing the 10km. The latter dropped out at 10km and also the necessary different judging standards for the two races, which sounded complicated, were very smoothly managed by the officials. The only inevitable disadvantage was that those doing the whole 20km naturally set off more slowly than they would have for a straight 10km and though included in the 10km results their times were likely to be slower than normal for the shorter distance. In fact all but one of the 6 strong SWC 10km contingent did the full distance and only David and Peter Hannell’s reasonable times were a true 10km effort. The other four finished with age-group medals over 20km – Roger Michell with Gold, Angela Martin and Dan Maskell Silver and Chris Flint Bronze. Roger set off strongly but comfortably in the windless perfect conditions and was first SWC home but in a time hampered by slowing in the last few laps. Chris and Dan took the first half more cautiously and though 90 seconds down at 10km it was Dan who came through 80 seconds ahead at the end. Keeping this final gap down below two minutes represented an excellent effort from Chris. Meanwhile Angela was justifiably pleased with her 3rd overall, 2nd in her age group and a time not far off her best 20km and considerably better than her other recent races. Click here for photographs from the race

Enfield 10km - Men:
1. C.Wilkinson (E&H U20M) 50 min 33 sec; 2. I.Richards (Steyn M65) 51 min 4 sec; 3. F.Deuter (Hill) 51 min 30 sec; 12. R.Michell (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 1 min 7 sec; 23. P.Hannell (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 5 min 28 sec; 24. C.Flint (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 5 min 41 sec; 26. D.Maskell (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 7 min 10 sec; 30. D.Hoben (Sy WC M60) 1 hr 12 min 2 sec.

Enfield 10km - Women:
1. G.Narviliene (Belg W40) 54 min 5 sec; 2. H.Middleton (E&H W50) 1 hr 3 min 51 sec; 3. M.Noel (Belg W50) 1 hr 6 min 7 sec; 8. A.Martin (Sy WC W50) 1 hr 11 min 39 sec.

BMAF 20km - Men:
1. T.Jones (Steyn 1st M55) 1 hr 52 min 53 sec; 2. S.Allen (Barn 2nd M55) 2 hr 2 min 26 sec; 3. J.Ralph (E&H 3rd M55) 2 hr 3 min 36 sec; 8. R.Michell (Sy WC 1st M65) 2 hr 7 min 58 sec; 12. D.Maskell (Sy WC 2nd M65) 2 hr 15 min 18 sec; 13. C.Flint (Sy WC 3rd M65) 2 hr 16 min 39 sec.

BMAF 20km - Women:
1. M.Noel (Belg 1st W50) 2 hr 17 min 6 sec; 2. J.Howard (Abing 2nd W55) 2 hr 19 min 34 sec; 3. A.Martin (Sy WC 2nd W50) 2 hr 25 min 49 sec.

Go Back