RWA National 10km, Hillingdon Cycle Track 28th Jun 2015 
The main event of the week was the National 10km Championships held on the Cycle track in Minet Country Park, Hillingdon. Over recent years this has been a good event for Surrey Walking Club and 2015 was certainly no exception. The field of 40 was not of the proper size but was a definite improvement on recent years and there were more than usual Club teams which made SWC’s silver medals in the men’s race more meaningful. The team which occupied the three consecutive places from 7th to 9th were only one point behind Steyning’s winning pack. First home, in a personal best since his return to walking, was a very fit David Crane. He had to actually restrain his efforts to ensure compliance with the very strict judging appropriate to the event. Having started with an even faster bunch he let them go but still held his position to finish just after the first woman home. Not far behind came Malcolm Martin in a time not far from his best and at a well-judged even pace. Having been beaten by Malcolm earlier in the week new member Carlos Cobo-Corrales from Spain tried to stay with his clubmate. He only fell back a little in the last third but refused to relax and achieved a best less than 50 seconds down. Shaun Lightman started fairly cautiously and while having to give way to the excellent Arthur Thompson stayed near his group only slowing a little when his place was secure on the last few laps. His time continued to follow his recent improvements in a race where the conditions and the competition gave the majority of the field better than average times. SWC also had two ladies in the women’s event with contrasting outcomes with Angela Martin achieving a small but significant pb to break 66 minutes. Well down the field Sandra Campbell returned to competition after injury but still not free from back pain and we look forward to her getting back to previous and better times. Click here for photographs from the race

1. F.Reis (Ilf M50) 50 min 0 sec; 2. F.Deuter (Hill M35) 51 min 57 sec; 3. I.Richards (Steyn M65) 52 min 52 sec; 7. D.Crane (Sy WC M35) 55 min 27 sec; 8. M.Martin (Sy WC M60) 56 min 14 sec; 9. C.Cobo-Corrales (Sy WC M35) 56 min 39 sec; 17. S.Lightman (Sy WC M70) 1 hr 3 min 52 sec; 19. P.Gaston (Sy WC M65) 1 hr 5 min 57 sec;
1. R.Collins (North Down W) 55 min 1 sec; 2. K.Donaldson (Leic WC W45) 57 min 12 sec; 3. P.Cummings (AFD W35) 1 hr 0 min 9 sec; 6. A.Martin (Sy WC W50) 1 hr 5 min 58 sec; 12. S.Campbell (Sy WC W45) 1 hr 17 min 6 sec.

Go Back