# Blackheath & Bromley HAC Johnson Bowl 4 miles incorporating Surrey Walking Club 4 miles Championship at Norman Park, Bromley 28<sup>th</sup> Jun 23

A good total of 13 turned out for this annual event, which over a number of courses and distances has been held for well over 100 years – perhaps among the longest running athletic events in the country. As has often happened the weather was kind giving us a pleasant evening in the park.

Jonathan Ellerton from BBHAC just managed to catch and pass Loughton's Melanie Peddle in the last few yards after Melanie had recovered a significant deficit by the 3 mile point. Both were close to the top in terma s of comparative performance although the best came from Jonathan's father down in 5<sup>th</sup> place. Jonathan thus retained the Johnson Bowl. Another good performance came from David Hoben who won the Surrey Walking Club Handicap. The SWC Championship went to Ian Statter who, in spite of little training, walked faster than predicted. David's repeated rival in recent races, Chris Flint (SWC President), was a little off peak to produce a gap of nearly two minutes or twice the usual close competition. It was good to see SWC's Mick Harrran (M80) also out for the first time after a long gap. Although understandably below his usual high standard, he was well inside 4 mph.

# **Results:**

(13 starters overall).

# 4 Miles Mixed

1. J.Ellerton (B&B U17B) 35 min 28.7 sec; 2. M.Peddle (Loughton W50) 35 min 29.6 sec; 3. G.Manzotti (Ton W50) 36 min 1.3 sec; 4. M.Culshaw (Ilf M55) 39 min 43.4 sec; 5. M.Ellerton (B&B M45) 40 min 18.7 sec; 6. J.Arthur (Ilf M60) 41 min 5.3 sec; 7. I.Statter (Sy WC M60) 46 min 9.2 sec; 8. D.Hoben (Sy WC M65) 49 min 11.5 sec; 9. C.Flint (Sy WC M75) 50 min 53.6 sec; 10. M.Harran (Sy WC M80) 56 min 18.8 sec; 11. B.Huggan (Unatt w75) 1 hr 1 min 44.9 sec; 12. S.Arthur (Ilf W60) 1 hr 13 min 5.8 sec.

# 3 Miles

1. T.Checheku-Boamah (B&B U13B) 33 min 48 sec.

# **Podium Positions for constituent competitions**

The event winners were: 1. J.Ellerton, 2. M.Peddie and 3. G.Manzotti.

The Blackheath winners were: 1. J.Ellerton, 2. M.Ellerton and 3. D.Hoben. Jonothan Ellerton takes the Johnson Bowl.

The Surrey Walking Club winners were: I.Statter, 2. D.Hoben and 3. C.Flint. Ian Statter takes the Gazette Cup.

The SWC Handicap winners were: 1. D.Hoben, 2.C.Flint, 3. I Statter. David Hoben takes the Jubilee Cup.