Cecil Gittins Memorial 5 & 10km races, Cyclopark Gravesend 4th Jun 23

Two races in four days was unusual in these days of limited competition however Surrey Walking Club's usual pair, Chris Flint and David Hoben, turned out for both events and Peter Hannel the latter. The Cecil Gittins race is a well known and supported competition and with 24 starters overall was a little bigger than last year. The winners of both the 5 and 10km races were both surnamed Hobbs as father and son showed their family in top form albeit with the former now in the M65 group. The 5km saw David down the field a little but by no means last with three behind him including the formerly outstanding Ed Shillabeer now in the M80 group. Chris Flint, in the longer race, found this hilly and twisting course on a hot day, quite a challenge but his time was by no means as far below expectation as several others.

Results:

(24 starters overall).

10km Men

1. J.Hobbs (Ashf M) 51 min 43 sec; 2. D.Annetts (N Herts M55) 51 min 47 sec; 3. I.Richards (Steyn M75) 56 min 13 sec; 4. C.Harle (Belg M50) 1 hr 4 min 54 sec; 5. J.Arthur (Ilf M60) 1 hr 7 min 11 sec; 6. S.Morgan (Col H M55) 1 hr 7 min 19 sec; 7. J.Borgars (Loughton M75) 1 hr 7 min 40 sec; 8. C.Flint (Sy WC M75) 1 hr 21 min 45 sec.

10km Women

1. G.Manzotti (Ton W50) 56 min 51 sec; 2. J.Benson (Ashf W) 1 hr 1 min 44 sec; 3. S.Davies (AFD W55) 1 hr 10 min 29 sec; 4. K.Smith (AFD W55) 1 hr 14 min 35 sec; 5. N.Blatchford (Abing W75) 1hr 15 min 33 sec..

5km Men

1. C.Hobbs (Ashf M65) 33 min 28 sec; 2. T.Wilkinson (Unatt M60) 34 min 25 sec; 3. D.Hoben (Sy WC M65) 39 min 15 sec; 4. E.Shillabeer (Ilf M80) 45 min 14 sec; 5. D.Ainsworth (Ilf M70) 48 min 29 sec;

5km Women

1. A.Jennings (AFD U23W) 25 min 18 sec; 2. J.Wilton (Ashf U17G) 27 min 39 sec; 3. L.Billingham (AFD U15G) 30 min 40 sec; 4. P. Elmslie (Ashf U20W) 36 min 24 sec; 5. S.Arthur (Ilf W60) 54 min 57 sec;